Hello, gentle reader.

My name is Leonard Kirke and when I’m not slogging through the dying, sluggish final years of earning a (most likely worthless) college degree, I occasionally create things.

Not necessarily good things, but things nonetheless.

The primary things I create, or aspire to create, are various aesthetically-pleasing arrangements of words collected into books, or whatever the modern equivalent of books are (I don’t follow what-all the kids are doing these days). Most of these word bouquets take the form of fiction, or as I like to think of them, “non-literal truths,” which some might call “meaningful lies.”

My fiction works tend to be in the form of one or two broad genres: traditional and experimental (or, rephrased, enjoyable and weird, though I personally find the “weird” to be “enjoyable” just as often if not more-so than anything else).

In terms of my “weird” stories, you can read my work via my contributions to “The Collected Works of Jeremy Kellerman Volume 1,” a free eBook available for download on Archive.org (and dedicated to the public domain!). My work with Jeremy Kellerman, a Michigan native and self-described “advice guru,” always tends to fall in this category. You can read more of our work on Jeremy’s blog, aptly titled “The Jeremy Kellerman Blog!”  http://jeremykellermanblog.blogspot.com/

I also sometimes write short, surrealist stories independently of the Kellerman project, these being generally less humorous (or at least, less obviously so) than what I write for Kellerman, and some of these stark, surreal stories of absurdism sometimes become longer works, including the novel in-production for nearly a decade, and which I consider perhaps my life’s work, which I refer to at present only as “PM.”

I have also written a comedic, surreal short film script called “Roadkill.” I may eventually post that online and invite independent animators to take a crack at it, if they wish. I’d love to voice act for it.

In terms of my “traditional” stories, none are currently available online, and few are actually finished, due to the aforementioned wasted years of focusing on a college degree. As I write them, I plan to post excerpts, or whole stories, or links to whole stories here on this blog for the public’s consumption.

The primary project I’m working on is a fantasy series about a world in which many animals, unbeknownst to humans, speak and think as humans do. The series follows the adventures of several of these animals, and their new-found human friends, as they learn to overcome their differences and discover secrets about animal-kind hidden from history. Along the way there is a fair amount of alchemy, magical shenanigans, and adorable animals that you’ll just want to hug and hug and snuggle and hug. (The series was originally written specifically for a friend, and then decidedly for a child/youth audience, but I’ve since gone all Tolkien on it and given the entire thing a centuries-spanning back-story, even after specifically declaring that I would not do such a thing. As such, I no longer have any idea who or what the target audience might be. Cie la vie.)

If you haven’t realized by now, I’m not terribly adept at promoting my own work. But it’s better than it sounds. Trust me.

Going back to genres of literature, in addition to fiction, I also sometimes write philosophical musings and observations, which may wind up here. If the blog’s name didn’t give it away, not to mention the fact that we share a root-word in our surnames, I am heavily influenced and inspired by the works of Danish philosopher and theologian and all-around wacky, neato guy, Soren Aabye Kierkegaard. He has inspired me philosophically to roughly the same degree as Franz Kafka, Osamu Tezuka and Satoshi Kon have inspired me in a literary sense. All of the above, being big influences, will likely see their work reviewed here on this blog (or they would see it, were they still alive).

I work on video projects rather more seldom than writing projects, but occasionally some video-based idea does come to fruition. Once again, the bulk of my recent video work is the result of contributing to the wonderful world of Jeremy Kellerman, as can be seen on his Youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/TheJeremyKellerman (side-note: I can’t recall if I’m actually in the credits of anything on there, and I’ll leave it up to you to guess at random how much involvement I’ve had in any of it).

I have, for the past few years, been an advocate of Free Culture. I will likely write reflections on why I believe Free Culture is not only a valid concept, but also a vitally important one, later on this blog. As a show of support of Free Culture, I plan to release most, if not all of my work under free licenses. A future post will hopefully be able to explain the license-status of each of my writings. I may also use this blog to occasionally link to good Free Culture-licensed works that I find online that one may use. For more information on Free Culture, I recommend the website QuestionCopyright.org, a very helpful resource indeed.

You should also visit the blog of a friend of mine, the founder of Lotus Games, an independent video game developer. That blog is called “Enigmatic Fish,” and can be found here: http://dream-forever.net/Blog/

While I’m promoting other peoples’ blogs, I may as well mention a recent inspiration of mine, Daniel Suelo, who has a blog at this address: http://zerocurrency.blogspot.com/ and a website at this address: https://sites.google.com/site/livingwithoutmoney/ and who has recently stumbled upon a bit of fame thanks to a biography published about him that you may have heard of, called “The Man Who Quit Money.” I highly recommend the book, and I even more highly recommend reading Suelo’s websites. You may not feel like giving up your life savings or your second Prius after reading the words of this modern-day hobo-philosopher, but you will likely look at the world in which you live in a rather new, worthwhile and interesting way.

Lastly, I am a janitor. I like to clean things. Janitors do important work. Give them gifts, if possible, and try not to leave too much of a mess wherever you go.

That is all for now.

Vaya Con Dios and be excellent to each other,

Leo Kirke

